Peafowl Representative Species

Peafowl Representative Species

There are three different types of peafowls.

? Blue (Indian) Peafowl (Pavo cristatus)
? Green Peafowl (Pavo muticus)
? Congo Peafowl (Afropavo congoensis)

The most recognizable species of the peafowl is the Indian Peafowl.

Blue (Indian) Peafowl (Pavo cristatus)

Blue peafowl are known as Indian peafowl, are large and brightly colored birds native to Sri Lanka and India, but can also be found naturally in Nepal, Assam, Pakistan, Kashmir, Nagaland, Burma, Java, Ceylon, Malaya, and the Congo. Peacocks are a larger sized bird with a length from bill to tail of 100 to 115 cm and weigh are 4–6 kg. The peahens are smaller at around 95 cm in length and weigh 2.75–4 kg. The male necks and breasts are usually a bright blue and their trains are an iridescent formation of multiple colors featuring eye-spots. Females are brown, grey, and cream-colored. Chicks are usually a light yellow to brown color. Average lifespan is 15 years. Range age at sexual maturity of male is 2-3 year and female is 1-3 years. The breeding season is between April and September. Average eggs production is 5 per peahen.

Green Peafowl (Pavo muticus)

Green Peafowl called as the Java peafowl are lives up to 2000-3000 meters in Southeast Asia. It is mostly found in open woodland and forest edges. At the same time, rivers and surrounding wetlands are places where they are frequently seen. They are similar to the Indian Peafowl but have some differences in plumage and head. The adult males have brilliant green plumage, blue shoulders, dark brown and long tail feathers, dark brown with green tinge on breast and flanks. They have a long upright blue-black crest on head. The lengths of peacock are 1.8–3 m and peahens 1–1.1 m and weigh 3.9-5 kg. They are large birds, amongst the largest living galliforms in terms of overall size. The female lays 3-8 eggs per period. Their chicks are larger and greyer than the Indian Peafowl, and can fly about two weeks after hatching.

Peafowl Representative Species

P.m. spicifer (India, Bangladesh and Burma), P.m. imperator (Burma, Thailand, China, Vietnam and Laos) and P.m. muticus (Java) are the subspecies of them.

Congo Peafowl (Afropavo congoensis)

The Congo peafowl known as the African peafowl is a species of peafowl native to the Congo Basin. It was discovered in 1936 and the wild population is estimated that 2500-9000 adults. They have physical characteristics of both the peafowl and the guinefowl. They are less impressive and smaller than the other peafowl. They have bare red neck skin, grey feet, and a black tail with fourteen tail feathers. Its crown is different from others and adorned with vertical white elongated hair-like feathers. The peacock’s feathers are deep blue with a metallic green and violet tinge.

The peahens’ feathers are brown and green for camouflage. The peacock of this species is a large bird of up to 64–70 cm in length and 1.5 kg in weight. The peahen is also 60–63 cm in length and 1.2 kilograms in weight. The Congo peacock is monogamous, but there is not enough information about wildlife. The male is ventilated its tail during the mating season like as others. The peahen is lay average 1-4 eggs with dark brown colored in a period (Anonymous, 2019e; Anonymous, 2019l) (Figure 13). Fruits and invertebrates (larvae, earthworms, snails, millipedes, spiders, and a variety of insect’s spiders) are occurs their mainly diet (Anonymous, 2019l).

Article Related Questions:

  • Who do peacocks mate with?
  • What god is associated with peacocks?
  • What do you call a group of peacocks?
  • Are peacocks and Peafowls the same thing?
  • How much does a peacock cost?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *